That time when you tried

(Words speak to me, sometimes I even amaze myself)
Personal statement
Why University? Why me?
Throughout all your whole school life you’re supposed to know what you want your life path to be, how you want to develop and how you will get there, including every detailed step. Well at that time I didn’t know who I wanted to be or what I wanted to become. The future is untold and at such a young age, it’s hard to know instantly what you want out of life. Some people are not inspirational people, sometimes it takes a while to really grasp life, to make you realise who or what you want to be, or to have some sort of idea of a future for yourself. Finding yourself and becoming that person is sometimes hard. It’s not supposed to be easy but making the decisions for yourself, making every step by yourself without the added pressure of school, people or peers, shows that you will be dedicated to your studies, because this is who you want to be.
Who do I want to be?
I would like to be a dedicated person, with a business mind set. I want to work, and put my heart and soul into being a success. I want to be able to feel proud of myself for the smallest achievements to the biggest successes. I want to be able to help people, to show them that just because they don’t have the grades for university that they should never give up hope. Also that there is a chance to change your career and not be complacent with what you have achieved so far because you want to improve yourself because you are worthy of so much more.
I’m a mature student who wishes to expand her knowledge as well as gain life and skill experiences.
Since leaving school in 2010 I have had various jobs, from working in food stores to independent stores. I have always worked with the public in some format. Whether being a customer assistant to a waitress.  I have learned a great deal from working in different places. In all the places that I have worked one thing in common has always been the same; making sure that every customer is satisfied with the service that they receive. From working with the public I have learned a great deal. I have learned to be patient, everyone needs their own time and everyone has their own abilities. I have also learned that being a good listener is a good skill to have. Catching little details can help in the overall outcome. Being keen to detail and noticing things that some people may miss, is also very helpful. Thinking on your feet is yet another important skill I have also learned through working. You never know what someone is going to ask you, or expect of you. Making sure that you are smiling and willing to listen goes a long way.
After I left secondary school in 2010, I went to New College, Stamford and studied Business and IT. It was a great eye opener in the discovery of the basic developments in business. After finishing and being away from studies, I have realised that I miss the goals and the deadlines which is something to strive for going forward. Learning new and interesting facts and putting those new developed skills into everyday life. I want to learn more and discover and to be able to give myself open opportunities and work on myself to become a person that has so much more potential than I already have.
I may not have studied A levels, I may not have the grades, but I have the ability to learn. The willingness to be something better than I am already. I know that I am willing to study so that I can discover a more intelligent side to myself and to make something of myself of which I can be proud.
What do I have to offer?
I am a hardworking, dedicated person who has 5 years’ experience working with the public because of working in retail. I am organised and well structured. I like to think that I will fit into University life.
This summer I decided I wanted to do something for myself, to prove to myself that I am capable. I went to a boot camp in Somerset. You would think boot camp is all physical and all about shaping yourself and becoming a better person in the way you look. But it is not. I didn’t purposely want to go for the whole purpose of looking great. I wanted to go so I could show myself that I can meet people, people I have never met before, and I felt that it would be very beneficial to me. I wanted to go to accomplish something for myself, to make me realise that I can do things on my own. I can be independent, even if I was nervous. The daily life at boot camp was gruelling but I found that it was worth it. I set myself into the right frame of mind. Pushing myself, not just physically but mentally too. Telling that inner voice that screams ‘I can’t possibly do this anymore, I just want to go home’, that ‘No you’re not going anywhere’. ‘You can do this and you know it’. It is about realising that what you want in life is sometimes supposed to be hard. The things you wish for, the things you want to become are not always going to be easy. There’s always going to be obstacles in your way, whether it being people that put you down, or your finances or even yourself. I believe that by pushing yourself, showing yourself and just simply believing gets you an outcome of which you can be proud.
Leave a Reply

